newbie... can i eat these?

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

newbie... can i eat these?

Postby Persimmon3 » Fri Jun 19, 2020 1:38 pm

i'm a newbie to this way of eating and looking for things i can eat to keep me from feeling bored! i am japanese and love rice so this way of eating really suits me. here are a few things i can't find answers on. i hope you can help me... can i eat any of these things:

1. buckwheat noodles
2. natto beans
3. kimchee
4. white and whole wheat bread
5. pasta... what kind?

i've been eating a lot of veggies and potatoes but after a while it gets old... day in and day out! i hope you can help me.
Persimmon3

Re: newbie... can i eat these?

Postby Lyndzie » Fri Jun 19, 2020 9:25 pm

All of those foods can be part of a starch-based diet. Most noodles are good (udon, soba) but remember to always check ingredients, I’ve seen ramen and yakisoba with egg.

The biggest challenge with Asian cuisine is the salt, and sesame oil. My local international market has a naengmyeon that is vegan and oil free (high salt, of course). Trader Joe’s has a decent furikake. Simply Asia brand has an oil-free ramen.

As far as bread and pasta, whole wheat is better than white, and make sure it is oil- and animal-free. Ezekiel bread is a solid choice, and widely available. Most grocers have a selection of whole wheat pastas.
Lindsey
My food journal: Adventures in Eating
My pregnancy journal: Maybe a Baby 2017
www.lindseyhead.coach
Lyndzie

Postby Lyndzie » Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:27 am

Also, check the kimchee - many types contain fish and shrimp. Mother-in-law’s has a vegan version. King’s is my personal favorite.
Lindsey
My food journal: Adventures in Eating
My pregnancy journal: Maybe a Baby 2017
www.lindseyhead.coach
Lyndzie

Postby Mom+Me » Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:08 am

Persimmon3,