Diabetes and Anosmia

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Diabetes and Anosmia

Postby Ellyloo » Sat Jan 13, 2018 2:07 pm

Hey everyone!
This is my first day (again) , and this time I want to do it right.
I am researching and 'owning' my eating instead of just kinda winging it.
I'm still learning, so forgive my questions.

I have just been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, and so I'm highly interested in my sugar levels all the time. I feel like I want to SEE this diet in action!
My husband is also type 2, and his medication (metformin) has stopped lowering sugars.
I'd love for him to be gung ho about it but he's got to 'own' it for himself so he believes it. I'm not going to force him.

If he eats a pile of starches for supper and then has meat the next day for lunch, will this do more harm than good?
I have no problem making food for us both and having him eat it, UNLESS it will cause harm later if he's wishy washy about it.

ALSO: about me, I have no sense of smell. I never have, and the drs say it's 'likely' that my olfactory nerves are scarred or damaged somehow. This means I taste only the basics, and combos of the basics.
A LOT of the foods on the diet are "blank" to me, and not even the least bit appealing. Squashes of all sorts, greens, etc... have no taste. The only food reward i get is the texture .
curry's etc just are painful foods to me, and the only reason I like franks red hot is for the tang and saltiness of it.
A baked potato with no butter or sour cream makes me sad.

Does anyone else have this problem, and how did they overcome their aversion to seemingly unexciting meals?
How can I get "INTO" it if i can't say "mmm delicious!"
Ellyloo

Re: Diabetes and Anosmia

Postby kirkj » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:33 pm

What tastes delicious to you when you're not eating this way?
kirkj

Postby Ellyloo » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:54 pm