MemphisRain1-New with RA and Ready to GO!!

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

MemphisRain1-New with RA and Ready to GO!!

Postby memphisrain1 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 10:47 pm

Hi Everyone!

I am brand new to experiencing Rheumatoid Arthritis (diagnosed in November, 2017) and the absolute horrors of this entire experience. :cry: ; however, I have been at my computer for this entire New Years weekend, for days, (other than painfully walking my dog or walking to the store across the street) reading, studying, taking notes, watching the video's...cleaning out the fridge (cupboards are tomorrow night) and purchasing enough food to get started on my NEW CHANCE today!!

I wasn't quite as perfect as I thought in my foodies today--cream with my coffee, cream cheese on my mini-bagel and six wheat thins (oil)..otherwise seltzer water, 2 red potato's no butter, yes to the salsa, thank you very much, and I have no idea (maybe some cold wheat cereal without moisture) for my "sweet" snack--gotta have something sweet because I quit smoking 18 months ago as well...

My RA feels like the flu most days along with the severe pain--and I made the decision NOT to take my methotrexate...I just couldn't--I was depressed, having bad thoughts about this being the end of my life with this horrible diagnosis and medication (I am 54 years young) and I have never been a pill person--not even Tylenol unless I had a bad toothache or something--I saw no way out--my inflammation is bad, even had swelling, massive pain in my knees, left thumb, my neck and deltoids--couldn't sleep--and it's just me--I have to work--some days I cried and cried off and on because I could barely walk, tie my shoes, put on a bra, etc.