Acne and Oil

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Acne and Oil

Postby ilovetodance » Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:17 am

Hello! I have read all about Nina and Randa's acne success story and I watch their videos on YouTube. I just had a few questions about diet and acne. Currently, I am following the McDougall plan so I eat no animal products and no oils. I have been doing this for about two-three months. Before this, I was vegan but I ate oils because I did not know how bad they were. After eliminating oil, I found out that my acne cleared up. So here are my questions.

1. For acne problems, do I need to completely eliminate all fats. I currently eat peanut butter that has one ingredient, peanuts, and I have not noticed any acne?
2. Are chickpeas considered a fat, like hummus, even if I make homemade hummus without any oil?
3. Is it normal to notice acne the next morning if I accidentally ate oil? I went out to dinner one night and had some hummus as an appetizer and the next morning my face exploded. I don't think it was the chickpeas but the fact that it had oil in it? Could this be the case?
4. Should I use all oil free skin care products? I noticed that I get acne when I accidentally eat oil but I have dry skin so I never use an oil free face wash. Is putting oil on my face in the form of face washes and face lotions just as bad as eating it? Also, is it bad to put cocoa butter and oils on my body to moisturizer my skin because my family just has very dry skin?

So my main question of all of this is even though Nina and Randa eliminated all fats, is this completely necessary to completely eliminate acne. I noticed a huge difference when I stopped eating oil so can I continue to eat my natural peanut butter, homemade hummus, and olives?

Thank you!!
ilovetodance

Re: Acne and Oil

Postby Timaca » Sun Apr 17, 2016 9:13 am