Overweight, hay fever, arrhythmia and back pain gone :)

Share your McDougall successes here in order to inspire others.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Overweight, hay fever, arrhythmia and back pain gone :)

Postby 88Asterix95 » Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:29 am

Hi to all fellow McDougallers,

I'd like to say hi to everyone and share some of the changes I've made since I got to this WOE. I hope this is the right board category to do so.
My name is Anja, I am a 26 years old psychologist (and leisure time bare hoof trimmer ;) @ETEselle).

I started my weight loss journey about 20 months ago when I had suffered from a herniated disc at 23 years old. That was kind of the warning sign I really needed to finally decide to do something about my weight. When I had a inguinal hernia at age 20 (happened without carrying anything, just getting out of the car), that apparently wasn't enough for me.
I am 1,78m or 5 ft 10" and at that time weighed almost 100 kg (220 lbs) which was just too much for my poor back. So I started going vegan, following a recommendation of a friend (and my nagging consciousness as I already was vegetarian for ethical reasons), but went low-carb. I didn't know any better.
Within 3 days I already saw a lot of improvement: My hay fever (stupid stuff when you're working with horses a lot) and cardiac arrhythmia were GONE. Yes, gone! I had not even thought of that being possible, but I enjoyed it and kept going.
I picked up an exercise routine at my university's gym and started feeling better.
But as I am deeply curious and analytic by nature, I started reading more and more on good nutrition and eventually found the China Study, the starch solution and all the other wonderful information out there. It was all so clear and logical, that I immediately went from low carb to high carb and I LOVE IT!
It feels so natural to eat whole plants and I always surprise doctors with my great numbers.