L-Arginine Anyone uses?

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

L-Arginine Anyone uses?

Postby heartchakra » Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:25 am

Hello,

I know generally Dr Mcdougall advises against supplementation but much to my dissapointment, my parents, aged 70, do not follow this way of eating as much as I would like them to .

I was reading about cardio health and L-arginine and Dr Ignarro's research on it and the subsequent Nobel prize for medicine which he got. He advises taking large doses of 4-6 gms and also to add L-citruline.

Does anyone here have experience with this or any comments.

With love to all,

Deepak
Mastery in Servitude - Avatar Meher Baba
heartchakra

Re: L-Arginine Anyone uses?

Postby eXtremE » Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:59 am

I have no personal experience with this supplement but I know many ppl here seem to take b12 and vitamin D even tho Dr. McD probably advises against the D vitamin. Supplementation is still very controversial. Just like B12 tho, if you are deficient and can't get what you are deficient in up to healthy levels using healthy PB foods, then supplementation makes sense to me. I recently started taking B12 myself.

Are your parents still healthy at this point even tho they don't follow this WOE?
On 7/8/2013, I decided to change my diet to a "mostly" WFPB diet. I have always been somewhat lean and muscular due to being a lifelong exerciser. Change in diet due to feeling crummy all the time despite a healthy outward appearance. Image
eXtremE

Postby vgpedlr » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:51 am