Hair loss on lower legs

For questions or comments about health, diseases, exercise or weight.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Hair loss on lower legs

Postby Guild43 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:34 am

Hello there,

I'm curious if any others have experienced this after swapping to this style of eating. Please note that my diet is a subset of the McDougall program called the "Anti-itis diet" which was outlined by Burgess (one of the all-stars). I am using this diet in an attempt to cure myself of a condition called Oral Lichen Planus. Thus far I have noticed a very slight improvement in my condition, but a marked improvement in other aspects of my health. I have been eating this way for approximately 3 months. Please also note that my aim is not to lose weight but to become healthier. Thanks in advance for any ideas.

My lower legs (below the knee) have been steadily losing hair since I began eating this way. I am certain that I'm getting enough calories since I've gained a bit of weight since I started (5lbs) and I eat between 3000-4000 calories per day.
Guild43

Re: Hair loss on lower legs

Postby Donna R » Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:15 pm

are you a woman? it may depend on your age. as we "get older" there is often less body hair on arms and legs.

if you are only 43 this may not be the reason.
~ Donna
Donna R

Postby Guild43 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:41 pm

Sorry I guess I should have been more specific, I am a 31 year old male.
Guild43

Postby nordgirl » Fri Apr 20, 2012 4:49 am

I wish that would happen to me :mrgreen:

I can report no such phonomena in my husband's case, his legs are furrier than ever :)
My type 2 diabetic husband and I have lost a total of 65 pounds thanks to Dr. McDougall. I'm cooking for a household of 7 McDougallers, and enjoying good health and a renewed sense of well being.
- Lisa P.
nordgirl

Postby Perla » Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:51 am