sirdle - 2019

Share your daily McDougall menus and/or keep a journal describing your personal progress.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

sirdle - 2019

Postby sirdle » Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:13 pm

The five pillars of a healthy lifestyle:

1. Don't smoke
  2. Severely reduce, or eliminate, alcohol
  3. Eat a healthy diet
  4. Maintain a healthy BMI
  5. Get some exercise
I feel like I've got the first four under control. Now it's time to pay more attention to exercise.

I think this journal might get pretty boring, pretty fast, but I also think I want to keep track of everything until all the different pieces become habits... just like I used Cronometer to track food until I got my food choices under control.

I like the format that Geo used, so I'll be using that format.

6', 168 lbs, 55 y/o, BMI 22.8
Blood pressure: 100/66
Resting pulse: 46

I've been walking for the past 7 months, averaging about 5 hours per week, but I suffer from periodic, acute, lower back pain, most likely due to tight muscles and poor posture. So my plan is to add some stretching & flexibility & balance exercises along with some meditation and strength training.

Cheers, :-P

Day 1, Wed

Food
==============================
B: oatmeal, blueberries, flaxseed
L: enchilada soup + salad
S: pineapple
D: potatoes w/ salsa, mustard, ketchup
S: green beans

Exercise
Activity - walking (30 min, intermittent)
Cardio - rowing (endurance, 2x12', r2' SR20, AHR 108)
Strength - none
Balance - Taiji stepping drills (20 min)
Flexibility - static stretching (60 min)

Rest
Sleep - 6 hr, fitful
Meditation - Qigong (10 min)
Stress - low
Reading - "Take Charge: Fitness at the Edge of Science", Clarence Bass

Notes
Walking is done at work in increments of 5-7 minutes, mostly as an excuse to get up and move about from my (mostly) desk job.