A Princess Journal

Share your daily McDougall menus and/or keep a journal describing your personal progress.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

A Princess Journal

Postby Aprincess » Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:26 pm

Hello,

My name is Amy Princess. It’s a great name for me, not so much for my husband, but I’ll save that for another day. I am 59 years old and have been overweight my entire adult life, pretty much since having my children. My husband and I have been plant based for a little over a year now. I had reached a point where diabetes was becoming inevitable. I was on metformin for prediabetes for about 8 years, but I never gave up. I was a professional Weight Watcher. I could follow that program, stay in points and eat all the cake and pizza I wanted. All I had to do was save the points. Well, it worked in keeping my weight from going any higher, but definitely didn’t help in my health goals. The doctor was starting to talk about statins for high cholesterol and I was already on blood pressure medications. All of this was in addition to the medication I was already on for a sluggish thyroid.

So we stumbled onto the Whole Food Plant Based lifestyle and I became a sponge for information. We made many mistakes, but kept learning. My only medication now is for my thyroid. My husband is off his medications, as well. But, as usual, I was spinning my wheels as far as my weight goes. I started following people on YouTube. I found many were just too restrictive and I would end up back to my junk food ways but staying away from meat and dairy. I’m really hoping the satiety of the starch in this program will be just the thing we need. So far so good!

So it was suggested to me that I journal for accountability and here I am. :)

My starting weight on 7/12 was 203.9. I will post again on Friday. If you have read this far, I thank you! I need all he support I can get. :-D

~ Amy
Last edited by Aprincess on Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.