Fermented Food and Salt

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Fermented Food and Salt

Postby Langeranger » Sat Sep 28, 2019 2:09 pm

I've been making my own Kimchi for several months mindful of the sodium load it bears. From the outset I reduced the specified 2 tablespoons to one and a half. On my last batch though I decided to experiment with a further reduction and dropped to one tablespoon. To my surprise and delight the amount of brine generated seemed virtually unchanged, i.e., there was more than enough to do the job. The quantity I make almost fills two qt. size Mason jars. I eat only a small quantity daily so a jar lasts a week or more. Doing the arithmetic, after reducing the salt I found that the per portion sodium load is under 500 mg. which is tolerable, i.e., I can get through the day without exceeding the 1500 mg. limit recommendation by much, if at all.

I started eating the stuff based on the good PR it gets in terms of fostering a healthy gut microbiota, and as we've been reading, a healthy gut seems to be the passport to almost everything good. Don
Langeranger

Re: Fermented Food and Salt

Postby Ltldogg » Sat Sep 28, 2019 5:53 pm

As Jeffn already pointed out to you in this thread https://tinyurl.com/y4hwd2na, fermented foods are not necessary and not part of the program. Nor is there any valid scientific evidence to back up the "good PR".

Follow the program guidelines and you will have good gut health.

~Scott
Ltldogg

Re: Fermented Food and Salt

Postby michaelswarm » Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:33 am

More important for health seems to be fiber and diversity of whole plant foods.