Fat free pizza

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Fat free pizza

Postby slojure » Mon Sep 23, 2019 4:42 am

Is it possible to make fat free pizza dough? I made it last week but wasnt strechy. I dont want to use agar agar in my dough...
slojure

Re: Fat free pizza

Postby AnnetteW » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:39 am

The stretchiness comes from the gluten. Perhaps it just didn't have enough gluten activation.

I usually just make a white bread dough, or my sourdough recipe, and turn it into a pizza dough. I'm an experienced bread baker though, and can go by feel a lot. Any basic recipe should be fine, without the 1-2 T of olive oil.
AnnetteW

Postby AnnetteW » Mon Sep 23, 2019 6:49 am

Here's the recipe I use if I'm not making sourdough:

1 T yeast
2 cup warm water
1.5 t. sugar
1.5 t. salt
4 cup flour (white all purpose, or a combo of what I have around)

I always add the yeast and sugar to the warm water, stir well and let sit a few minutes till I see yeast bubbles. Honestly, this isn't necessary anymore with good fresh yeast, but I still tend to do it.

Add the flour and salt. I'll add about 3 cups of the flour, then add more as needed.

I use my stand mixer or do it by hand, depending on my mood. Don't over knead with the stand mixer. Then form a ball (in the same bowl) cover and let rise. Plop it on a well floured surface, form it into a ball shape and cover with the mixing pot for 30 min to let it rest a bit. At this point I can tell how the dough will react. Sometimes it will be springier than other times (letting it rest a bit keeps it from being quite so springy.)