How long can foods be stored in the fridge?

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

How long can foods be stored in the fridge?

Postby Mrs Sunny » Sun Aug 11, 2019 2:10 am

Hello, I feel already embarrassed to fill the forum with my stupid questions again and again, but I'm still learning. :oops: :D

I'm looking for some info how long which foods can be stored in the fridge. In the past I reheated leftovers the following day else they were thrown away. But I am a busy working mom and would like to prepare more stuff for myself. I used to prepare bean salads for three days the last weeks, but always felt insecure about it.

How long can I store

- boiled potatoes?
- homemade hummus from boiled chickpeas?
- cooked rice?
- overnight oats?
Mrs Sunny

Re: How long can foods be stored in the fridge?

Postby Pumpkin Pete » Sun Aug 11, 2019 3:44 am

Hi Mrs Sunny,

I eat all the foods you list regularly.
I've kept boiled potatoes and home made hummus in the fridge for up to week.
I rarely store oats as I only prepare the amount I eat for breakfast.

Greater care needs to be taken with cooked rice.
Below is a link to a food tip series I write about plant foods.
Scroll down the page and click on the food tip for U which is about how to store cooked rice properly;
https://sites.google.com/site/qhuccommunitygarden/peter-s-food-tips-from-our-garden

Finally you should use a thermometer to confirm that your fridge cools sufficiently - 40 degrees F (that's about 4.4 degrees c)
Pumpkin Pete

Postby Lyndzie » Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:30 pm