Spices For Dummies...?...

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Spices For Dummies...?...

Postby calvin » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:37 pm

I see from googling around that there actually is a Spices For Dummies book out there. After my 4-5yrs on our WOE, I mostly don't care about spicing my mostly simple meals because everything tastes good, even without spices. And I've been cooking for many decades and have no trouble following and/or modifying a recipe, but want to improve my very limited knowledge-base/understanding regarding 'spices". I know alot of the obvious stuff like oregano for Italian spagetti sauce and cumin in hummus. But the other day i saw a recipe i thought i would try, calling for coriander which i couldn't remember the last time I used coriander but I remember back in the day, I was using it occasionally in some now-forgotten recipe; so i had to find it in the back of my cabinet and smell it and even have some coriander seeds that must be 35yrs old.

No, i'm not asking for your favorite coriander recipe :D.
But do you folks have any favorite one-stop source(s) you like for when to use what spice where and how much?
calvin

Re: Spices For Dummies...?...

Postby Vegankit » Thu Dec 13, 2018 7:55 am

calvin wrote:But do you folks have any favorite one-stop source(s) you like for when to use what spice where and how much?
I do cook with spices and have an extensive collection in my pantry that I use. I don't have any website but I do have a suggestion I found helpful years ago from a Thai cookbook. When cooking with a new spice - add a small amount to the food and taste it. Let it cook a little, retaste - and add more if needed. The idea is for you and your taste buds to understand the flavor that each spice brings so you can control the flavor in your food.