Candida ?

Share your experience, challenges and success implementing the McDougall program with family and children.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

Candida ?

Postby Jenell Magrum » Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:36 pm

Hi there!
I am fairly new to the McDougall Diet but have been on it now for 3 1/2 months, along with my 3 small children. My husband slowly but surely seems to be seeing the importance of this kind of lifestyle and is coming around! :) My concern that I have been noticing recently with myself and children is the symptoms of a candida overgrowth, can also be referred to as a yeast infection. Really the main symptom I see in them is that they frequently have to itch their private parts. I have also unfortunately noticed a yeasty smelling odor in my vaginal area ( hope this is not TMI :oops: ) I really love this new diet and lifestyle, and have been telling all who will listen to me about it and how I've been able to shed at least 10 pounds since starting this program! This is just one of the very few things I have been concerned about since implementing it. Before starting this program, I and my family had been eating a vegetarian diet that was fairly high in fat and plant protein and lower in carbs b/c we have showed signs of fighting an overgrowth of yeast. We had been told that candida/ yeast loves sugars and carbs, so to try to limit them in our diet ( which would have definitely excluded all the rice, potatoes, sweet potatoes, starchier vegetables, beans, Ezekiel bread, and a couple pieces of fruit that we have on a regular basis now). I am very much aware of the importance of other non-starchy vegetables- especially the green ones for all their vitamin and minerals- and we include them in every meal except breakfast usually. We are also almost always fighting Stapholococus ( don't know if that's the correct spelling); not the kind that usually shows up on the skin only, but the kind that effects the digestive tract an