Fatigue with newbie lifting weights

Share your favorite approaches to stay active, fit and healthy.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Fatigue with newbie lifting weights

Postby mkh9 » Thu Jan 22, 2015 6:41 pm

Hi,
I am a newbie to lifting weights. I am trying to get in shape so I got a trainer so I won't get injured. We do 50 minutes of stretching then an intense workout with some type of weight lifting. It is hard for me being a beginner. I am sleeping enough (at least 8 hours), drinking at least 8 glasses of water and/or herbal tea or more. I want to lose a couple of pounds of fat and/ gain muscle mass. So I don't want to eat too much but I think I need to eat more. I am not really more hungry though. I am tired all the time and especially when I am working out and after. I have come home and usually eat a sweet potato for the potassium and carbs. Should I try something different? The past couple of years I have been sitting most of the day due to a back injury so I realize a lot of the fatigue is due to lactic acid buildup and just the change in doing more. But it is severe fatigue. I also get slightly dizzy sometimes when I am working out even though I have had water before. My blood sugar runs a bit low (about 70 non-fasting). But I'm not hypoglycemic.
thanks,
mkh9
mkh9

Re: Fatigue with newbie lifting weights

Postby mkh9 » Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:25 pm

LynnCS wrote:I don't know your whole story, but I think I would start a lot slower, since you've been sedentary for a while. Congratulations for getting moving. I think you might be on the right track with thinking that your chemistry might be a little out of whack, but just eating a lot of whole foods; starches and colorful vegis...etc, you'll eventually notice the energy come back, but meantime, Dr. McDougall suggest brisk walking everyday. I started out that way and added some light lifting at home. Now I've joined the gym and do a full workout without getting fatigued.