Concern about knees and exercise

Share your favorite approaches to stay active, fit and healthy.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Concern about knees and exercise

Postby Louese » Tue Sep 02, 2014 5:02 pm

Hi there
I am a newbie. I am 42 and weighing in at 250+lbs at the moment. I have not been active for a while and last week started walking again. Yeap my calves have been rather painful but are now loosening up - yeah! My concern is my knee as I have a torn tendon and am awaiting surgery plus the weight doesn't help with my knees. My DH is concerned that if I only walk that I will strain and damage my knee more. Is this a real concern or misguided?
Louese

Re: Concern about knees and exercise

Postby nayasmom » Fri Dec 12, 2014 1:36 pm

The best answer you can hope to receive is to check with your doctor and get the okay to do whatever activity and within what restrictions/boundaries.
Robyn
Great spirits have always met with violent opposition from mediocre minds. Albert Einstein

[/url]
nayasmom

Postby Hapsy » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:06 pm

I can't walk much at the minute due to knee problems, but bike riding is doable and good for knees because you are taking the weight off them and yet strengthening the quadricep muscles that support the knees.

So, if you can find an exercise bike or have weather to use a regular bike I would suggest that.

All I can tell you is that I damaged my knees again three years ago trying a walking program--they haven't been right since. And yet, when I first hurt them, after 4 months of healing I was riding my bike and helping them to heal. If only I had stuck with that instead of trying to walk.
Hapsy

Postby Spiral » Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:33 am

I have been a runner for the last 4 years and only on rare occasions have I had any knee pain. This despite running 30 miles each week most weeks.