blood sugar spike blunted with resistant starch

A place to get your questions answered from McDougall staff dietitian, Jeff Novick, MS, RDN.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

blood sugar spike blunted with resistant starch

Postby JOJO1947 » Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:19 am

Jeff, I've read everything you say about resistant starch and love your detailed calculations showing how the effect is insignificant for weight loss.
Does the same hold true for effect of resistant starch on blood sugar?
Someone wrote "You can cook your white rice and refrigerate it for 24 hours. You may then reheat and eat. Doing this turns it into resistant starch (like beans) and it will not spike your blood sugar. If it does, it will be minimal."
There are several studies I looked at on PubMed which suggest resistant starch lessens the blood sugar spike, but I'm not an expert on analyzing studies. I know there are lots of rigged studies and the effects may be way less than the conclusion suggests.
Would appreciate your input on the resistant starch/blood sugar spike topic.

Thanks, JoAnn
JOJO1947

Re: blood sugar spike blunted with resistant starch

Postby JeffN » Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:51 am

JOJO1947 wrote:Jeff, I've read everything you say about resistant starch and love your detailed calculations showing how the effect is insignificant for weight loss.
Does the same hold true for effect of resistant starch on blood sugar?

Yes.

100% the same. When you read my review of RS on the issue of weight, calories, etc, and then closely analyze the RS studies, you see the actual impact is still insignificant, if any. And, most of it is promoted by the food industry in a way to make the refined and highly processed junk food diet, somewhat healthier. It is a band-aid approach to health.