Self Quant Redux: HRV

A place to get your questions answered from McDougall staff dietitian, Jeff Novick, MS, RDN.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Self Quant Redux: HRV

Postby vgpedlr » Sun May 28, 2017 9:51 am

Jeff, I am curious why you decided to try tracking HRV? To measure your response to exercise? To monitor lifestyle stress? Are there other uses of it for health? Have you had any aha! moments where HRV taught you something unexpected?

I've been tracking HRV most of the time for a few years now, with some interruptions when I lost the equipment, or when in a period of low training volume /intensity. I started with iThlete, and switched to Sweetbeat, using a Bluetooth Polar strap. I've listened to a few interviews with the Sweetmeat founder, and and she is insistent on reminding people that HRV scores are highly individual, not to be compared with others. You have to watch your own score and learn through observation what affects it.

I find it quite useful. I measure for 3 min. per instructions while lying in bed before rising. It gives me a "second opinion" about my health and fitness status. If it goes down 2 days in a row, then the app warns me, and through experience I have learned that HRV can sometimes predict problems that might occur, giving me a chance to recover before something bad happens. For instance, I typically run 60-70 for my score. If I drop into the 50s, even if I feel good, I know to back off. Last week I picked up a stomach bug, and my HRV crashed to 40, as it will when sick. I'm better now, but my HRV is still a bit off, so I know not to push too hard. Fri. night I went to see a live band and was out late. I woke feeling good (I thought) but my HRV was terrible, which reflected poor sleep. So no Moab single track yesterday, recovery needed. Today I'm back up, so time to hit the trails.