Vanessa's Journal

Share your daily McDougall menus and/or keep a journal describing your personal progress.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Vanessa's Journal

Postby vanessa40 » Sun Oct 23, 2011 11:20 am

Hello,
I thought the best way to get to know all you wonderful people was to start a journal.

This is something i am not very good at but i thought i would give it a try.
Some people have the gift of gab. I am not one of them so bare with me.

Where to start..
I'm 45 and have to say i feel better now than when i was 25. I have always believed that age is just a number. It is something i have never been ashamed of. Most of my friends would die before they would tell you their age or weight. To me it has never mattered. I think it is all in how you feel.

A five years ago i weighed 220 pounds and at 5'2 that was a lot of me.
I buckled down and cut out all the junk food and sodas. I started with dare i say it Sweating to The Oldies. It was all i could do at the time. Then i started walking..finally after losing down to 160 i started running and lifting. I have ran two half-marathons and a ton of 5-10 k's.

I joined Weight Watchers and got to my Lifetime Goal weight of 120. I am now at 135. I watched Forks Over Knives two months ago and started my vegan lifestyle. So that brings me to now.

I have been looking over this site and reading. This seems like a plan i could really get use to. I need to drop this weight and had no idea it was the fat i was eating that was messing me up. Also all the extra supplements i have been taking. Cutting that out will really save me some money..

Anyway.. I just wanted to say hi and get started. Today is Day 1
To Err Is Human
To Forgive Is Canine
vanessa40

Re: Vanessa's Journal

Postby rebecca » Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:19 pm

Hi Vanessa,
Welcome :-D So glad you decided to go veg! I'm 40 myself and this WOE has given me so much more energy.
Enjoy the journey!
:mrgreen:
rebecca