Erin's MWL journal :)

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Erin's MWL journal :)

Postby erin » Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:54 am

This is my first time attempting the MWL. I have been pretty much McDougalling for the last 10 years but the last 2 years of school have been stressful and intense and as a result I left with not only a nutrition degree but also 10 extra pounds, lol :). My husband is also doing MWL and hopes to lose ~ 40 pounds of fat. This is day 3 of MWL and so far so good.

B: Hashbrowns, oatmeal
S: Caramel rice cakes (3)
L: Brown rice, steamed broccoli
S: Gala apple
D: Baked yukon gold, salad w/fatfree dressing
S: Banana

Probably a cup of herbal tea before bed :). I normally do not snack this much but I will be at work until pretty late and it gives me something to look forward to at break time.
erin

Re: Erin's MWL journal :)

Postby erin » Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:31 am

Okay, so I learned a few lessons yesterday.
1) if you give up coffee and tea, replace them with other fluids
2) eat slowly
3) trapped gas and constipation can cause pain that is so intense you think your kidneys are failing
4) vomiting cranberry juice is not so bad

About fifteen minutes into my shift yesterday I started having pain in my back and nausea. I thought that maybe I was a bit dehydrated so I drank a bottle of cranberry juice to see if it would help. It did not. The pain escalated and after about 3 hours of pure torture I knew I had to go to immediate care. They took blood and x-rays. The x-rays showed a huge gas bubble toward the top of my abdominal cavity. The pain, nausea, and vomiting went on until like eleven o'clock last night when I finally fell a sleep. Today, so far so good but I haven't eaten yet. I will update later today.

~ erin
erin

Postby erin » Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:00 pm