Birdy Takes Flight

Share your daily McDougall menus and/or keep a journal describing your personal progress.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Birdy Takes Flight

Postby Birdy » Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:24 am

Okay, I'm taking a deep breath here and am starting a journal too. I've been blown away by how wonderful some of your journals are and am a little intimidated to start my own, but here goes!

First some background. I'm 59 and am at least 30 pounds overweight which is as much of a drag for me I think as being 100 pounds overweight is for another person. I've been carrying around this extra weight for about 15 years and in that whole time I've known about Dr. McDougall and have posted on his boards. Why am I still here? Well, I'm like the caterpillar who, as the limmerick goes, was happy until a toad in fun said, "Pray, tell, which leg follows which?" After which, the caterpillar fell in a ditch, unable quite to run. Translation: once I began reading about nutrition and weight loss back in about 1993, I got so confused about what was true and who was right that I didn't know what to do and have just continued to gradually gain weight and develop other signs of ill health. BUT, I keep circling back to McDougall because I know deep down that it's the truth. Also, I'm moved to be a vegan by concerns about animals and the environment.

Okay so what are my stats?
5'6"
small frame
starting weight 163 lbs.
current weight 159 lbs.
waist measurement 37" (!) very apple-shaped
cholesterol over 200
triglycerides about 180
blood sugar too high
blood pressure as of yesterday 149/92 (I take it at home)
resting pulse rate 98
arthritis
rosacea
anxiety
chronic sinus infection
chronic yeast infection
chronic herpes infections