Hi everyone

Learn the basics and take the first steps to successfully implement the McDougall Program.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Hi everyone

Postby bodyandmindhealth » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:07 pm

Hi friends — I am a newbie to this board. I’m 41, female and 165 lbs. I had a friend die of colorectal cancer at age 42 in May of this year. I watched Forks over Knives and it changed me forever. I found Dr Gregor, Dr McDougall, Dr Esselstyn etc and started reading. My husband and I went “plant based” in July, and actually I got my 69 year old parents to read How Not To Die and make the switch too.

I recently watched a Chef AJ video about going nut free (in addition to WFPB No SOS) and this inspired me. I want to lose weight and my current effort is with the low-calorie-density concepts. It’s been about two days. So, just getting started. No nuts baby! (I mean, in addition to no animal foods, avocado, dried fruit, oil, sugars, etc.)

I was a low carber for a long time which now seems so dumb. Uninformed. There are plenty of studies/research being posted on low carb message boards too but the scope, the research methods and the funding are not always discussed, so I think it ends up being misleading.

Anyways Hi everyone! I’m not a prolific message board poster but I hope to chime in here and there.
bodyandmindhealth

Re: Hi everyone

Postby JeffN » Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:44 pm

bodyandmindhealth wrote: I want to lose weight and my current effort is with the low-calorie-density concepts. It’s been about two days. So, just getting started. No nuts baby! (I mean, in addition to no animal foods, avocado, dried fruit, oil, sugars, etc.)

Welcome