10 Months of Starcheo after 2 Years of Paleo

Share your McDougall successes here in order to inspire others.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

10 Months of Starcheo after 2 Years of Paleo

Postby jamesapyrich » Tue May 28, 2013 1:55 pm

tl;dr - thanks for the work that McDougall and his colleagues have done to promote the science of this way of life :)

And for those who like to read:

I switched from eating 2 years of a paleo-style diet (specifically, Sisson's Primal deal) to a plant-based diet in August of 2012. There were lots of little things that began to accumulate into growing concerns for me, all of which completely toppled over when I was introduced to a video featuring John McDougall's Starch Solution.

I have struggled with weight and diet for many years, topping out at over 310lbs. I've never weighed below 245 as an adult, unless you count weighing 240 when I graduated high school.

I have never been diagnosed with any long-term chronic diseases, though this might be a combination of a lack of regular checkups and simply just being damn lucky.

I am currently in the 260s, which is roughly where I've been for the past several months... I think I understand the reasons for this, but I'd be interested in any feedback.

Prior to the switch in August, I was getting just plain bored of food. The idea of cooking myself up yet another huge meaty meal was incredibly unappealing, despite the fact that I had become pretty good at making it taste not-so-bad. I barely had any sense of hunger--I just ate when I thought it was time.

I was also pretty severely constipated and had re-developed a hemorrhoid, so I was quite uncomfortable and in a significant amount of pain when I discovered the recommendations of McDougall and his colleagues.

But even these things (which are pretty serious) concerned me less than another thing I had noticed developing: small scratches and abrasions took a very long time to heal, resulting in dark scars.