Back in action - lots of learning inbetween

Share your McDougall successes here in order to inspire others.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Back in action - lots of learning inbetween

Postby coachkathryn » Tue Dec 11, 2012 1:44 pm

I know this is a testimonie and success story board, and mine is a round about one. I'm back to low fat vegan starch based diet. I've been vegan for a long time now - ethical reasons inspired me and health benefits pushed me to continue. I've always been extremly healthy with the exception of extra weight.

I found McDougall several years ago and followed it well and lost some weight. I started learning more about health and theories in general and I was excited by all of it - Raw, macrobiotic (vegan style), juicing, and just about every vegan diet inbetween.

I have to say I've tried lots of things, I have a deep love for green juice now and I enjoy making some raw things too, but at the end of the day I haven't lost any weight that has stayed off like I did when I was eating this way. What I think is even cooler though, is that with everything I've dabbled in, including what is vegan on the Taco Bell menu :oops: I didn't ever gain any of my lost McDougall weight back. I don't know what that means exactly but I thought it was cool.

I'm not in school becomming a health coach. I chose a school that isn't just vegan because it was a good online school, but I definately want to finish up and get my Plant Based Nutrition Certificate at Cornell to compliment the education I'm getting now. The school I'm with now (IIN) talks a lot about bio-individuality and how we all have different needs which I understand to a point, for example wheat makes me really gassy so I tend to avoid it, but when they have speakers from Adkins and Weston A Price I have a hard time listening.

I also have a coworker that has lost well over 100 pounds eating this way and he is inspiring me to return to this lifestyle of eating.