Long time McDougaller

Share your McDougall successes here in order to inspire others.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Long time McDougaller

Postby FranH » Fri Jul 13, 2012 3:59 pm

I've been eating pretty close to the McDougall way for half of my 55 years now, and figured it's about time I share what I've learned.

I first read McDougall's books around 1984 or so - I believe there were just 2 books out then. My then-boyfriend was in training for marathons and started noticing that he had a much harder time completing his longer training runs when we'd eaten steak the night before. We started eliminating red meat during his training, and as we both paid more attention to what we ate and how we felt afterwards, we migrated to a plant-based, whole grain, no added oils diet over the next few months. We never made a decision to cut out any food forever, we just cut way back on red meat, then poultry, then dairy and eggs, then fish. We each went through an episode of trying to eat cheese again after going a month or so with no dairy - the way my stomach reacted took away any desire for cheese (including the "fake" soy cheeses) forever. Since we were both young and in good health, we had the luxury of taking the time to try different adjustments to our diet to see how we felt. We both ended up completely losing our taste for any animal products or any oily food.