Weird Reaction to Rice

For those wanting to learn about and follow the McDougall Maximum Weight Loss Program. You can also join our monthly weigh-ins.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Weird Reaction to Rice

Postby Aleph82 » Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:25 am

I've been doing the McDougall diet for the past 3 months and have had great success. Over 70 pounds gone already! My diet strictly follows McDougall guidelines and I take it a step further by incorporating the tedious task of counting calories. Everything is going very well, but I have consistently experienced a weird reaction rice, a staple of the diet, and I was wondering if anyone else might know what's going on.

Whenever I eat a rice dish, almost always brown rice, it fills me up very quickly and then about an hour or so later I experience a quick onset of almost nauseating hunger. Drinking water helps a little but a slight feeling of hunger and nausea still lurks in the background. The only surefire way of getting rid of it is to a) eat something else b) exercise. It doesn't ever seem to be a problem when i do an even split of the meal's calories with rice and something else that is starchy (like legumes), but the hunger does make it problematic to eat foods I enjoy where the principal source of calories comes from rice, like stir fry. Does anyone know what's going on?

Relevent stats:

Sex: Male
Current weight: 280 pounds
Height: 6'3
Current daily caloric intake: 1500 if resting, 1800-2000 if I exercised. 4 meals a day.
Fasting blood sugar levels are in the 90's, but I do have mild hypertension.
Aleph82

Re: Weird Reaction to Rice

Postby frozenveg » Fri Feb 13, 2015 9:26 am