cutting boards

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

cutting boards

Postby laugenstein » Tue Mar 23, 2021 11:46 am

I currently use a polymer cutting board from Magic Chef. It stains easily when cutting carrots, sweet potatoes and squash. I have to bleach the board to remove the stains. I would like so suggestions about wooden cutting boards. Do they stain easily? What is routine maintenance to preserve the board?
laugenstein

Re: cutting boards

Postby pundit999 » Tue Mar 23, 2021 12:17 pm

I don't have personal experience with these but reviews say they do not stain easily:

https://www.amazon.com/Organic-Bamboo-Cutting-Groove-3-Piece/dp/B07WFF17BQ/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8
pundit999

Postby jester » Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:25 am

I'm far from an expert, but I did do some research into this awhile back. I wanted to purchase wood cutting boards, but wanted something that was still fairly light. One of the interesting things I read about was the hardness of the wood you select. There is actually the Janka Hardness scale that rates different types of wood. I think a lot of people like to buy very hard wood so that they get less scratches/cuts over time so the wood stays looking nice. This is probably why bamboo is so popular. Not only is it light, but bamboo is extremely hard. The downside of this is that when you're cutting, something has to give. If it's not the wood, then it's your knife. If you get an an extremely hard wood cutting board you may find yourself needing to hone/sharpen your knives more often.