When the McDougall diet stops working.....

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

When the McDougall diet stops working.....

Postby Ruff » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:31 pm

Long post.....

I am a long time McDougaller, lost lots of weight, took up running and a martial art, got my life back, nobody believes I am a formerly obese person. All good.

I have been Mcdougalling since 2012, but over the last 18 months my health has been going downhill. Tired all the time, aches and pains, mouth ulcers, digestive stuff that won’t respond to the MCD digestive tune up, terrible leg cramps, anemia....... I put it down to menopause, stress, life in general. My family all agreed it was a good thing I didn’t work full time, or I’d be in bed all the time. I started organising my life around my naps. No running on the same day as aikido. An hour in bed after a run or before aikido. It even got to a choice between housework and running....and that’s without a job outside the home.

Of course the entire world blamed the diet. Suggested that ‘going vegan’ might be good in the short term, but ‘all those deficiencies eventually catch up with you’. I know my stuff, I’ve done the Cornell course, but even I was beginning to doubt myself. Should I eat eggs.......I can’t go on like this.....maybe this diet isn’t for everyone......

My hair was by now thinning, and so, rather startlingly, were my eyebrows! I went to the doctor to have my iron pill prescription renewed. We had, with intensive supplementation with iron and vitamin c, managed to get my iron over 20! I was at a whopping 22! She asked how I was feeling, and being a little down, I actually told her....