Battling sugar addiction

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

Battling sugar addiction

Postby Simba4 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:47 am

I joined FOK plant-based movement in April 2015. Did really well the first 18 months! Lost 25-30 pounds, felt fantastic. But the last 8 months, I have slid backwards. I am still eating 100% plant-based foods so that's not the problem. Insidious sugar has slipped back into my life. Sugar has been a problem my entire life, starting in childhood. Those 18 months was the first time in my entire adult life (I'm 59) that I was free of sugar. But my old addiction has returned. The weight has crept back on. I need help and advice please.
Simba4

Re: Battling sugar addiction

Postby GeoffreyLevens » Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:33 am

I have had plenty of experience with my own sugar addiction(s)...the "s" is because I have back-slide a quite a few times. My take on it is that sugar is such a powerful hook, the only way out is cold turkey. Eating fruit will help you because there is a lot of satisfaction in the whole food sweet taste but do not fool yourself into eating dried fruit because it is just too concentrated. Mostly though, I would suggest finding other, easy to access food you like that aren't "sugar" and eat them instead when the craving comes on. It WILL fade reasonably quickly but you have to sort or draw a hard line for yourself i.e. "these are not food for me" and use will power to stick to that. Others may disagree and I would love to hear about other approaches...
GeoffreyLevens

Postby roundcoconut » Fri Feb 24, 2017 1:18 pm

I will offer you my experience, and feel free to do with it whatever you wish: :)