Stainless rice cooker offer, discussion on inert cookware

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

Stainless rice cooker offer, discussion on inert cookware

Postby StarchHEFP » Wed Sep 28, 2016 2:56 pm

I know how much people love their instant pots, crock pots, etc. but sometimes all you need is a cheap and simple rice cooker and steamer. I used to have one, but with growing concerns over the nonstick surfaces I'm inclined to donate it. Recently upgraded to very expensive titanium/stainless cookware which allows for lower temperature "vapor" cooking. This takes longer for sure, but I've come to appreciate the flavors that come out with slower cooking in this beautiful surgical stainless cookware.

As a doctor, I never knew about the health harms with the cooking surfaces, but having this demo for the cookware, and them showing me how stuff leaches out from pots & pans caused me to do a little searching on nontoxic cooking surfaces. My conclusions: stainless is the way to go; higher quality is worth the money. Nice and thick if you can afford it. Out went my wok with nonstick, and I brought my trusty stainless wok from 20 years ago, Revereware Pro cleaned it off thoroughly, and now it's shiny and new again! At least with stainless you know for sure it's totally clean of any residue. There is a cleaner called "Barkeep's friend" that is an inert powder can get the residual stains off. I had my trusty Fagor pressure cookers, but I've set them aside as I realize that they cook so fast, it's not enough time for the flavors to blend together. My cheap and simple slow cooker has been trusty, but it's kind of a hassle to wash the heavy insert, and I don't generally plan so far ahead for it.