hacking through the jungle to see the truth...

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

hacking through the jungle to see the truth...

Postby Lady_Potato_Head » Wed May 20, 2015 11:23 pm

Hi All
I'm new to following Dr. McDougall's work and I am reading Maximum Weight Loss now. I am refining my ways to fit this plan because I really want to give this an honest shot to heal my endometriosis, acne, digestive discomfort, improve my mood and sleep and drop the last 30lbs once and for all. I'm a 37 yo female and I play office all day so I am fairly sedentary but trying to get back into my daily walking and pilates.

Like many people, yes first time I did Atkins dropped the weight quickly and it came back fast. that was over 10 yrs ago.
I tried doing it again and didn't drop a pound at all and I wonder if that was my metabolism.. but then I decided to start back into my juicing (I've always had a Jack Lalanne!! :D) and going vegan/paleo about 2 yrs ago. yes ... I was following the raw vegan and paleo tenants steering clear from starch and grains like it was some plague. eating meat and still cheating with occasional ice cream and green juice and raw veggie dishes
Well the vegans I think are finally getting to me :) and I started doing the master cleanse last year clearing the mental muck to live simpler and more disciplined.

As the Doc does, he looks at the populations of people who consume the diet. I will admit I am STILL a bit confused.
I know Loren COrdain is a fat dude but I never followed him.. Yep Sally Fallon, all those people.. But... I was more into Mark Sisson,and he is 58 and looks like he is in good health and he is not fat.. I know a LOT of celebrities are claiming to do "Low-Carb" and they look great, and I know they have a lo of money and time to work out a lot as well..