alcohol and grey hair

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

alcohol and grey hair

Postby ncyg46 » Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:11 pm

well the other thread is already too long...just watched this on abc7
along with Barbara Bush's heart valve replacement, and now Robin Williams needs one...

http://abclocal.go.com/wabc/story?secti ... id=6693535

stress causes grey hair????? I'll enjoy a beer or two!!!! My sister was totally white at my age...I have a minor streak....so what are the other reasons for grey hair?????????? :D or the fact that mine hasn't changed yet? :D
ncyg46

Postby HealthFreak » Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:30 pm

I'm an expert on the subject of gray hair. Mine looks like Anderson Cooper's, he's 41 years old I'm 47.

There was a podcast about the subject on NPR's Science Friday this week. A new study just came out saying that gray hair is caused by too much hydrogen peroxide. Our bodies produce a little bit of it, but if we produce too much it bleaches out the color from our hair.

The next step is to figure out why some people produce more hydrogen peroxide than others. The interviewee on the podcast said it was a major break through to find the mechanism that causes gray hair.
HealthFreak

Postby Donna R » Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:01 pm

a gastroenterologist told me vegetarians (or vegans, I don't remember) get white hair sooner. mine is "gray". I told him my mother had white hairs long before I did and she ate meat. I don't know where he heard that little tidbit.
~ Donna
Donna R

grey hair

Postby ncyg46 » Thu Mar 05, 2009 9:09 pm