Budwig diet

A place to get your questions answered from McDougall staff dietitian, Jeff Novick, MS, RDN.

Moderators: JeffN, carolve, Heather McDougall

Budwig diet

Postby thorny » Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:24 am

Hi Jeff,

I'm new to this group (and this diet) and I have a question. Are you familiar with the Budwig diet? What are your feelings about it. I had been using the flax seed oil and low-fat organic cottage cheese mixture as a preventitive against cancer but after listening to you and Dr's McDougall, Esselstyn, and Campbell I have set this protocol aside for now.
I'm no expert to be sure but I have read that when you thoroughly mix these ingredients together (with a blender) it changes their molecular structure allowing the omega 3's in the oil to clean the cells (or something like that). Please comment and thank you!!! Peter Thornton
thorny

Re: Budwig diet

Postby JeffN » Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:35 am

thorny wrote:Hi Jeff,

I'm new to this group (and this diet) and I have a question. Are you familiar with the Budwig diet? What are your feelings about it. I had been using the flax seed oil and low-fat organic cottage cheese mixture as a preventitive against cancer but after listening to you and Dr's McDougall, Esselstyn, and Campbell I have set this protocol aside for now.
I'm no expert to be sure but I have read that when you thoroughly mix these ingredients together (with a blender) it changes their molecular structure allowing the omega 3's in the oil to clean the cells (or something like that). Please comment and thank you!!! Peter Thornton

Hi Peter

While there many be so many approaches to cancer, the reality is, few if any have any real science and documentation behind them. And, as you can tell, many do not even make sense in the light of basic nutrition, health and even common sense.