I had a bowl of quinoa flakes last night. They are supposed to be gluten free. Their website says that all their quinoa products are produced in a gluten free facility. I very very rarely eat these flakes, but I happened to have some last night and this morning, I distinctly felt the twisting pains for gluten GI symptoms.
I emailed the company. Sure enough...
"Our quinoa flakes are gluten free, however they are our ONLY gluten free product that is not made in a gluten free facility, the facility also handles wheat and soy but what they do is a thorough cleaning of the room and all equipment by breaking it down and cleaning before they process our quinoa flakes. After that the flakes are sent out for testing to make sure there is no trace of gluten."
I definitely think I've had some cross-contamination. This has happened occasionally with the quinoa flakes before, but it's inconsistent and i was thrown by their statement on their website.
I am avoiding the flakes from now on. Too bad, they were a lovely occasional treat.