Latgerda - every day a little better

Share your daily McDougall menus and/or keep a journal describing your personal progress.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

Latgerda - every day a little better

Postby Latgerda » Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:51 am

Hello,

I want to use this thread to track my journey. But first some background:

I am 34, female and have been overweight all my life. In fact, the first record of my weight problems is from when I was a toddler and the doctor wrote "morbidly obese" in my baby health journal. There isn't much I haven't tried, from fat camp in my teens to South Beach, Weight Watchers, several doctor supervised formula diets, psycho therapy and so on.
Binge eating is my best friend when things get tough, or uncomfortable, or stressful. I started doing it in my childhood when I used to hide stashes of food in my room, and today not much is different just that I have a kitchen to hide it in now.

Christmas 2011 I read The China Study and decided to give this vegan thing a shot. It was difficult for various reasons: I live in Iceland, where selection in fresh fruit and vegetable is limited, not to mention trying to get vegan friendly food at work or when eating out. I also felt that it takes too much effort when it comes to shopping, preparing meals and planning. I lost around 30 lbs and felt a lot better but eventually the pizzas and cheese sandwiches started to creep in.

However, one thing I dropped for good was meat and fish. I realized I don't miss it one bit and I think that my two cats are keeping me motivated there. Looking at their cute faces makes me unable to disconnect the slab of flesh from the live animal. So I decided to give myself a break (I can be extremely self-critical) and be happy I managed to get at least that far.