10 weeks left in 2010

Share a great recipe or restaurant, ask a question about how to cook something, or mention a good ingredient substitute or packaged food.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, carolve, Heather McDougall

10 weeks left in 2010

Postby limberone » Fri Oct 22, 2010 9:00 am

There are ten weeks left in 2010, and today is also the 16th anniversary celebrating the day I became a vegetarian. The first ten years were great, and the last six years have been progressively less healthy. To celebrate the day, and to have a healthy ten weeks, today I departed from my usual breakfast of coffee, bagels & cream cheese and prepared the multi-mix cereal. It was just cooked & refrigerated brown rice, raw rolled oats, and a small sprinkling of grape nuts, all topped off with soymilk.

I have over 60 pounds to lose. I've been wearing the same three pairs of size 16 shorts for a few years now. During the winter, I wear the same three pairs of black leggings I've been wearing for many years now. I have no pairs of jeans that fit. The waist is the problem. If I find a waist that actually fits, all the other measurements in the clothing are too big. I've got a collection of fat layers that prevent any normal clothes from fitting properly. I would really like to wear a pair of jeans or a pair of khaki pants again w/o the muffin top that invariably makes people feel the need to ask if I'm pregnant. It's gotten to the point that I simply avoid as many events as possible, because I am horrified when I look into the mirror.

So today I begin re-learning good habits to replace the numerous bad habits that I have picked up over the last six years. There's something about October for me that has always signaled a new beginning. Many of the events I can remember as being very significant for me originate in October. Also, the number 11 is one of my favorite numbers, and I want to begin 2011 in a better place than I have been for many years now.