Confused by T. Colin Campbell article

For those questions and discussions on the McDougall program that don’t seem to fit in any other forum.

Moderators: JeffN, f1jim, John McDougall, carolve, Heather McDougall

Confused by T. Colin Campbell article

Postby FlowerPower » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:11 pm

Help! I'm relatively new to this WOE and had finally embraced the NO OIL aspect of this lifestyle. I gave up meat and dairy a year ago, but, I'm ashamed to admit, I've continued to eat my share (and maybe yours too) of chips and French fries. I thought I had finally gotten through to myself that low fat was as important as the no animal products, then I read this article:

http://nutritionstudies.org/fallacious- ... rated-fat/

In it, Dr. Campbell says that protein is the real issue with heart disease, not fat. If this is the case, why the admonitions to avoid oils? Is it just for weight control? I had thought that saturated fat and cholesterol were factors contributing to heart disease. Now I'm just confused.

I apologize in advance if this has already been covered somewhere. I'm really trying to understand how to make the healthiest choices for myself and my family. The fat/oil issue the one remaining sticking point in our household (I've gotten everyone on board now with no meat and dairy). I'm the only one in the house who needs to lose weight. If I need to avoid fat/oil for that reason, but they don't, I don't want to be telling them it's bad for their health when it isn't.

Thank you in advance for any help you can give.
FlowerPower

Re: Confused by T. Colin Campbell article

Postby waingapu » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:24 pm

Wow,

You know, after brushing over the article I went back to the top to check the date.... thinking it may possibly have been April 1st.

Seriously I did that, but saw it was actually April 18th, 2014, so not a April Fools day joke.

I will re-read this, but it strikes me as unusual. I'd better read it again to determine its true meaning.